Veggie Vendetta

Standard

I’m about to tell you something you might find shocking.  But hold onto your hats, because our wedding is going to be a….

That’s right folks!  I am a longtime vegetarian and Zach rarely eats meat nowadays.  So we won’t be serving anything that used to breathe and have eyeballs at our wedding.  I think a lot of our non-vegetarian friends and family members are surprised we’re doing this.  But really, even if we were hiring a caterer, I wouldn’t want to pay for people to eat in a way I don’t believe in.  Because we’re cooking all the food ourselves, of course we’re not going to serve meat.  I don’t even know how to cook it!

We’re having a vegetarian taco bar!

I hope that people aren’t upset about not eating meat and I really hope they enjoy our food.  If it forces them to try something new, then good!  Maybe some will realize that it is possible to eat a satisfying and delicious meal without meat.  Maybe some will freak out and slam burgers before they come.  I don’t really care.  At least we’ll be showing off our values (and our mad cooking skills, hopefully) on our wedding day!

As a side note, I have been to several weddings at which vegetarian options were not even offered!  Maybe I have a slight vendetta, but after not being able to eat at weddings I’ve been invited to, I am super pumped to turn the tables on everyone and not serve any meat!  I promise that the food will be delicious and that there will still be lots of protein (beans, guacamole) and cheese (we’re not vegan).

Is it crazy to have a totally-veggie reception?  Do you think people will freak out or enjoy the food?  Have you ever been unable to eat at a wedding reception?

2 responses »

  1. I was on a vegetarian (sometimes vegan) challenge for about six weeks. Sometimes I tried to be really healthy. Sometimes I was more of a junk-food vegetarian. No times did I feel good. BUT I know many people who are happy, energetic, strong vegetarians.

    Though I didn’t have a super pleasant experience, I admire people who take stances and make life choices based on the things they believe in. (And I do eat less meat now after the learning experience of that challenge.)

    Even us meat eaters could certainly deal with eating vegetarian for one night! I think it’s awesome that your wedding is definitely going to be very you, and really show the personality/beliefs of the couple.

    Also, that’s interesting you mentioned the weddings where you couldn’t eat. If I’d planned a wedding, I’m not sure it would’ve crossed my mind to have vegetarian options. So, it was great to hear your perspective. After my challenge, and hearing about my friends’ struggles with eating at certain places, I’d make an effort to remember that it’s important to give people a vegetarian option if I were planning a big event now.

    Keep rocking on with your planning!

  2. I didn’t have any control at all over the food at my wedding– it’s the only thing I’d really have changed. If it were all up to me, I’d have served Indian curries and basmati rice with naan– or eggplant parmigiana, fresh veggies, and garlic knots. Husband and I eat 70%-80% vegetarian meals, so we would have gone that route, as well. It’s definitely not crazy; I predict you’ll get a lot of compliments on this delicious-sounding meal!

Leave a Reply

