A Very Simple Save the Date

Standard

When it came to STDs, (insert sixth grade level laugh here), Zach and I didn’t feel the need to be fancy.  While I certainly appreciate the beautiful, ornate paper STDs and invites out there, they just didn’t strike me as a must-have item.  Plus, we loved the idea of going paperless!  Sending the majority of our STDs and invites via email will save trees and save us money!  I know it’s not the best thing to do etiquette-wise, but as you’ve probably realized by now, we don’t really bow to tradition very much.

To make our STD, all I did was use GIMP photo editing software (Photoshop’s free, downloadable twin) to add text to a cool picture of us taken at the Uyuni Salt Flat in Bolivia.  I downloaded the awesome fonts for free too!  I’m no photo-editing wizard, but I think they turned out pretty well for the amazingly low price tag of $0!

To send these out, we just attached the photo to an email titled “Save the Date!” and then wrote a short personal note to the invitee in the body of each email.  I think it added a nice intimate touch!

Did anyone else send out e-STDs or e-vites?  Would you like receiving an e-vite for a wedding or think it was tacky?

2 responses »

  1. Jessica did e-mail save the dates. I think it’s a great way to go paperless and affordable. I will probably do that too.

  2. We did email save the dates and we both wore engagement rings! Our save the date email linked them to a website where they could watch a little stop-action video we put together (http://savethedateforkatyandbryan.blogspot.com/). I don’t know if anyone loved it as much as we enjoyed putting together the garden stone and video, but that’s ok. It’s a great memory of a crafty day together.

Leave a Reply

