Old Standby Asian Veggies

Standard

Sorry I’ve been super MIA lately!  We got an apartment for the summer (pictures forthcoming), but we still don’t have Internet!  So I’ve got lots of blog ideas in my brain but haven’t had the ability to post them!

Today I’m sharing a recipe I can’t believe I’ve never blogged!  It’s Zach and my all-time favorite easy-to-make, for-when-we-can’t-think-of-anything-else dinner!  I first made this with a fellow Peace Corps Volunteer in Tanzania, and I believe he got the recipe from an Alton Brown show.  The great thing about this dish is that it’s so easy to customize and modify based on what you like and what’s in your fridge that there are endless possibilities!  I apologize in advance for the iPhone pictures.  My camera is in the shop.  It looks better than this in real life.

The basic concept is: COLESLAW+RICE OR NOODLES+SAUCE=PARTY IN YOUR MOUTH.

First, cook rice, pasta, rice noodles, whatever grain you want.  This time I used brown rice.

Then, chop up some cabbage and whatever other veggies you want to include.

Veggies, pre-cooking

Cook them in a pot with some oil and salt.  This time I was just cleaning out the fridge so I used cabbage, kale, red pepper, broccoli, and jalapeno.  Cook them down as much or as little as you want!  I also added an egg toward the end of the cooking time and stirred it up so it scrambled in pieces mixed throughout the veggies.

Veggies, post-cooking

Then, make the sauce.  You only really need four essential ingredients: PEANUT BUTTER, SOY SAUCE, VINEGAR, AND OIL.

The 4 essential ingredients for your sauce

Mix equal parts of each item in a bowl.  I use about 1/2 cup of each when I’m making this for two people.  Easy, right!  Actually, it takes a few minutes to get the peanut butter to mix in, but it gets there. Then you can taste it and adjust to your liking.  Some extra (but unnecessary) things I like to add to make it more flavorful include: brown sugar, mustard, red pepper flakes, and ginger.

Next, mix it all together!  You can eat it hot or cold and it’s delicious!  Adding peanuts can also give the dish an extra crunch and protein kick!  I just didn’t have any on hand this time.

Mmmmm mmmm amazing

There you have it!  Tell me that’s not a delectable and easy way to use up extra produce!  Let me know what you think in the comments!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

