Runnin’ Runnin’

Standard

I read a lot of blogs.  My Google Reader is always wayyy too full of blogs of all different types: weddings, travel, cooking, lifestyle.  I don’t ever read magazines though.  I think I just find real life stories, written in first person, much more interesting than celebrity gossip and what-have-you.

Strangely, one type of blog I find really fascinating are running blogs.  This is strange because I’ve never liked running.  Yet I read about these amazingly buff women running 20 miles a week, training for marathons, RUNNING marathons, and seeming to love it.

I read them and I think, “MAN, I want that!”  I am jealous of their awesomeness at exercise and their amazing high-mileage accomplishments.  Then, one day I found this training plan…

I think you know where this is going.  I’m trying again.  Although it’s never worked for me in the past, I just can’t give up.  I have no money for a gym membership right now, and I have a wedding dress to fit in next year!  Plus, I’ve got the jealousy of these awesome ladies whose blogs I read.

So I found this: Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training Program.  And it seemed strangely doable, and strangely exciting.  This is not a promise, because running 13.1 miles, for practically TWO HOURS, still seems insane to me.  But I am officially beginning Week 3 of this program, and so far so good.  Today I did my second “long run”, four miles, and it kinda sucked, mostly because it was so freakin’ hot outside!  The Ohio summer may not be the best time to be attempting this.  But attempting it I am, so far.

The thing is, races are expensive, and running an actual race just sounds kinda “meh…” to me.  However, if I really manage to get through this whole program, I should probably celebrate by running an actual race.  Maybe.  What do you think?  Should I be researching early-September 1/2 marathons in this area?  Or should I wait a little longer to see if I can stick to the program?  Am I just being crazy?

4 responses »

  1. Hey Carrie!

    Good for you! I would absolutely recommend celebrating with a race. It’s a great way to stay motivated throughout your training. Races are usually unbelievably fun, so they’re great to use as rewards to yourself.

    From what I understand, a number of people from high school are doing the Columbus half in October. It’s a little later in the year than you wanted, but it sounds like a really fun one!

    Can’t wait to hear about your progress (and your decision on a race)!

    • Hey Aurora,
      Thanks for reading this and for the advice! I am starting to think I really should sign up for a race to keep myself motivated. Plus it would probably be a lot more fun to run the 13.1 in a race as opposed to by myself! I don’t think I’ll still be in Ohio in October but there are some races in early September. Guess I’ll wait a couple more weeks then see how I’m doing and maybe sign up!

  2. Pingback: Hal Higdon: Running « Rubber Tyres --> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

