What is Success?

Standard

I’ve been philosophizing a lot lately. One thing I realized is that I more easily define myself by the kind of life I don’t want then by the kind of life I do. If I am rejecting society/America/the government’s definition of success, then I need a new one. One that is wholly mine. The simplest way I can define success is happiness. But what are the factors that will lead me to a happy life? Here’s what I came up with (in no particular order):

1. To Be Continuously Learning: I want to see the whole world. I want to always be reading a good book. I want to learn new skills and languages and facts all the time.

2. To Give of Myself: I want to be the best partner, daughter, sister, and friend that I can be. I want to be selfless. I want to give of my time, energy, and skills to others.

3. To Live Healthily and Sustainably: I want to eat well and exercise a lot, while still enjoying the things I love in moderation. I want to eat meatless, organic, local, and sustainable whenever possible. I want to buy less stuff and when I do buy things I also want them to be organic, local, and sustainable products.

4. To Be Spiritually Full: I want to grow closer to God and not afraid of death.

5. To Be Constantly Creative: I want to use my brain and my hands to reduce my consumerism and to make artwork, food, and clothes. I want to film, photograph, write, edit, cook, bake, sew, etc. as much as possible, in order to fulfill my creative spirit.

I think these five tenets are a good starting point for creating my own definition of success.  How do you define success?

Leave a Reply

